The Scotland Bookshop
The Scotland Bookshop
Scotland books
Scotland Bookstore
© David Williams
- Help  
- areas of Scotland
Help Home
Scotland Booksearch Topics
Subjects and topics
Amazon Books
- Home Page
and Power Search
This page explains how the books are arranged into the various areas of Scotland.

There are four "types" of areas. In general, most books fit into "Scotland" or one of the 32 "local areas" which are based on Scotland`s local government councils.

The types of areas
The areas
Books which deal with all (or most) of Scotland are in the section called "Scotland". Scotland
The whole of Scotland has been divided into 32 "local areas" which are based on the country`s local government council areas.
more information
Orkney Perth & Kinross Falkirk West Lothian
Shetland Angus Inverclyde Midlothian
Western Isles Dundee Renfrewshire East Midlothian
Highland Stirling East Renfrewshire North Ayrshire
Argyll & Bute Clackmannanshire Glasgow South Ayrshire
Moray Fife North Lanarkshire East Ayrshire
Aberdeenshire West Dunbartonshire South Lanarkshire Dumfries & Galloway
Aberdeen East Dunbartonshire Edinburgh Scottish Borders
Books which cover a large area which is made up of more than one of the "local areas" but less than the whole of Scotland are in one of the "regional" sections. more information
Highlands and Islands
North-eastern Scotland
Central & Southern Scotland
These areas are used for books which include Scotland as part of a general survey covering a number of countries.
Scotland as part of the UK, Britain or the British Isles
Scotland as part of Europe
Scotland as part of the World